Matter365

            Matter Statuses

            Matter statuses in Matter365

            All created matters in Matter365 are by default in Active status. Active matters are accessible from matters page, and they represent open cases that your firm is currently working on.

            At any point, you can change your matter's status to Inactive in matter settings. This change is just changing the status, so you can filter your matters and separate Active from inactive ones, but inactive matters are still fully available to access in Matter365, just like the active ones.
            Filtering matters by their status
            You can change matter status of Inactive matters back to Active at any time. To do this, click on your matter to open Matter dashboard, select Settings in top right corner, and Edit matter general info.
            Switching the matter status from active to inactive and vice versa
            From both Active and Inactive statuses, you can initiate closing a matter, which will take matter to status Closed.
            Closing a matter
            Closing multiple matters at once
            Matters in that status aren’t editable anymore and you can't open their matter dashboard. You will see them present in Closed matters page, they will pop out in search results, but if you want to open matter dashboard to access them in Matter365, you will have to reactivate them first. Reactivation will put them back in status Active.
            Accessing closed matters page
            Matters in Closed status can be archived in SharePoint. Changing status from Closed to Archived will ask for your confirmation and notify you that it won’t be possible to reactivate the matter again, or access it from Matter365 anymore. Upon confirmation, documents, emails and notebooks of a matter will be copied to SharePoint, and Office 365 matter group will be deleted. List of archived matters will be available in Archived matters page, and if you need to browse any of the matters in there, you will be redirected to SharePoint location where the files are stored. This is done because the best practices of using Office 365 dictate that you shouldn't have too many open Office 365 groups, and over time, your daily work would become less organized with a lot of old matters you do not need present in various application pages. This way, you will always see only the work that is currently relevant, while still being able to access anything from the past, archived in SharePoint.
            Closed matters can be reactivated or archived
            Matters in Closed status can also be permanently deleted. Deletion will also ask for your confirmation, and upon confirmation, all matter files and Office 365 group are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
            Closed matters can be permanently deleted
            As the image above shows, it's not possible to delete matters with existing invoices created, and delete button for them is disabled (grayed out)
            All matter statuses are graphically presented in the image below, and they show a usual life cycle your matters might have.
            Matter statuses in Matter365


            Updated: 25 Nov 2019 08:35 PM
            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            0 0